Colorado Springs Mayor Suthers named inaugural recipient of Sam Mamet Good Governance Award

CML Newsletter
September 11, 2020

The Colorado Municipal League announced Aug. 26 that Colorado Springs Mayor John Suthers has been named the inaugural recipient of the Sam Mamet Good Governance Award. The award, named in honor of retired CML Executive Director Sam Mamet, honors an individual who exemplifies and seeks to expand the application of principles of good governance. 

"Last year when this award was named in my honor, I was so deeply humbled and now, knowing who the first recipient is, I’m even more so," said Mamet. "Mayor Suthers is a true public servant, not only of his own community, but of the state as well." 

"To be the recipient of this inaugural Sam Mamet Good Governance Award is truly an honor," said Mayor Suthers. "I would like to thank the incredible team of employees at the City of Colorado Springs who work hard each day to make our community better and make me look good. Especially in the midst of this unprecedented time, it’s evident that true leadership involves collaboration and choosing a path that best protects the physical and economic health of our citizens."

"Looking closer at his achievements here in Colorado Springs you begin to understand why Mayor Suthers is a textbook example of effective and successful leadership in government," said Colorado Springs City Attorney Wynetta Massey. "John Suthers has the unique ability to create a vision for the future of the city and to articulate that vision to the citizens in a way that lights a creative fire and leads them to achieve that vision together. It was my pleasure to nominate Mayor Suthers."

Award nominations were submitted by CML membership and voted on by members of the CML Executive Board. CML received 19 nominations for this year’s award.

Other nominees were: 

• Montezuma Mayor Lesley Davis 

• Former Montrose Council-member and Mayor Judy Ann Files  

• Gunnison Mayor Jim Gelwicks 

• Pueblo Mayor Nick Gradisar 

• Superior Town Clerk Phyllis Hardin 

• Grand Junction Police Department Advocacy Coordinator Mary Harmeling 

• Alamosa Finance Director Judy Kelloff 

• Snowmass Village Town Manager Clint Kinney 

• Former Woodland Park Mayor Neil Levy 

• Center Town Manager Brian Lujan 

• Basalt Town Manager Ryan Mahoney 

• Hayden Town Manager Mathew Mendisco 

• Lone Tree Mayor Jacqueline Millet 

• Windsor Resident Debra Rojas 

• Former Ward Mayor Karelle Scharff 

• Retired City Manager Gary Sears 

• Denver Legislative Director Skye Stuart 

• Brush City Administrator Monty Torres

For more information about Mayor Suthers, see the video posted at