Current Articles


CML Newsletter
February 14, 2020

In 2019, CML announced the creation of the Sam Mamet Good Governance Award in honor of retired CML Executive Director Sam Mamet.

"Sam was a tireless advocate for municipalities in his 40 years with CML, the last 14 as executive director," said Liz Hensley, CML Executive Board president and Alamosa councilmember. "He was dedicated to ensuring that the government closest to the people, and its elected officials and staff, demonstrated principles of good governance."

The 98th CML Annual Conference in Westminster, the award will be awarded annually to one to three individuals who exemplify and seek to expand the application of principles of good governance, which may include:

• Efficiency and effectiveness of government

• Responsiveness to need

• Openness and transparency

• Respect for the rule of law

• Accountability to self and others

• Inclusivity

• Ethical behavior and conduct

• Innovation

• Representation of all constituencies

• Fiscal accountability

The award will be presented at the Thursday Luncheon at the CML Annual Conference each June. Recipients will be given a complimentary registration to the following year’s annual conference and invited to assist in presentation of the award to their successor or successors. A plaque containing the names of all recipients and the year of the award will be maintained at CML.

Any municipal elected official, staff member, or other individual in public service who exemplifies principles of good governance is eligible to receive the award. Eligible individuals may be presented for consideration through the completion and submission of a nomination via CML’s website. CML Executive Board members and the CML executive director, with approval from the CML Board president, may also add nominees for consideration.

Final selection of the recipient will be made by the CML Executive Board at its regular April meeting prior to the 98th CML Annual Conference, and recipients will be notified and provided with a per diem reimbursement for expenses and one night of lodging the night before the award is given, if not already registered to attend the conference.

The online nomination form is available at, and the deadline for submissions is March 31. If someone in your community is deserving of consideration, please make sure to submit a nomination. For questions, please contact CML Engagementand Communications Manager Sarah Werner at


Past Issues


Periodicals Subscription Request
A members-only benefit.
Click here to subscribe.