Sam Mamet Good Governance Award

The Sam Mamet Good Governance Award, established in 2019 in honor of retired CML Executive Director Sam Mamet, honors an individual who exemplifies and seeks to expand the application of principles of good governance. 


2021 winners: Fort Collins Mayor Wade Troxell and Hudson Police Chief Jay Hirokawa

Find out more about the winners in the videos below.






Other nominees

CML received 31 outstanding nominations for the 2021 Sam Mamet Good Governance Award.

Other nominees were:

  • Delta City Manager Elyse Ackerman-Casselberry
  • Mancos Town Administrator Heather Alvarez
  • Monte Vista Mayor Dale Becker 
  • Montrose City Manager Bill Bell
  • Mountain Village Mayor Laila Benitez
  • Denver Councilmember ​Kendra Black
  • Durango Assistant City Manager/ Transportation Director Amber Blake
  • Greeley Chairman of the Water & Sewer Board Harold G. Evans
  • Nederland Town Clerk/Deputy Town Administrator Miranda Fisher
  • Nederland Town Administrator Karen Gerrity
  • Wheat Ridge City Manager Patrick Goff
  • Carbondale Town Manager Jay Harrington
  • Silverthorne Director of Finance and Administrative Services Laura Kennedy
  • Frisco Town Manager Nancy Kerry
  • La Junta City Manager Rick Klein
  • Nucla Town Clerk Melissa Lampshire
  • Denver Clerk & Recorder Paul D. López
  • Basalt Town Manager Ryan Mahoney
  • Idaho Springs City Administrator Andrew Marsh
  • Breckenridge Mayor Eric Mamula
  • Kersey Town Manager Christian Morgan
  • Thornton Councilmember Sam Nizam
  • Castle Pines City Manager Michael Penny
  • Pagosa Springs Town Manager Andrea Phillips
  • Eagle Town Manager Brandy Reitter
  • Littleton City Manager Mark Relph
  • Sterling City Manager Donald J. Saling
  • Westminster Mayor Anita Seitz
  • Bayfield Town Manager Katie Sickles
  • Silver Cliff Mayor Harry (Buck) Wenzel
  • Morrison Town Manager Kara Winters