In This Section


MUNIversity is the Colorado Municipal League's program to recognize municipal elected officials investing time and resources to participate in educational events in an effort to increase their knowledge of municipal government and enhance their capacity to lead. Municipal elected officials earn credits by participating in CML-sponsored training events. Additional information is available in the MUNIversity brochure.

Award Levels

Fundamental Level (30 credits)
  • Recognition in the CML newsletter.
  • Invitation to wear ribbon displaying achievement at the CML annual conference.
  • Acknowledgement in CML annual conference program and at the CML annual conference.
  • Certificate of achievement
Leadership Level (60 credits)
  • Recognition in the CML newsletter
  • Invitation to wear ribbon displaying achievement and acknowledgement with presentation of award at the CML annual conference.
  • Acknowledgement in CML annual conference program.
  • Certificate and pin of achievement.
  • News release to local media.
Graduate Level (100 credits)
  • Recognition in the CML newsletter
  • Invitation to wear ribbon displaying achievement and acknowledgement with presentation of award at the CML annual conference.
  • Acknowledgement in CML annual conference program.
  • News release to local media.
  • Name on permanent plaque in CML offices.
  • Token of appreciation from CML.


2023 Award Recipients

Graduate Level (100 credits)
  • Alamosa Mayor Tyron Colema
  • Alamosa Councilmember Liz Hensley
  • Arvada Mayor Marc Williams
  • Brighton Mayor Gregory Mills
  • Gunnison Councilmember James Gelwicks
  • La Junta Councilmember Edward Vela
  • Lakewood Mayor Adam Paul
  • Mancos Mayor Ellen Queenie Barz
  • Montrose Mayor Barbara Bynum
  • Ridgway Mayor John Clark
  • Windsor Mayor Paul Rennemeyer
Leadership Level (60 credits)
  • Berthoud Mayor William Karspek
  • Canon City Mayor Ashley Smith
  • Centennial Mayor Stephanie Piko
  • Centennial Councilmember Tammy Maurer
  • Centennial Councilmember Don S. Sheehan
  • Del Norte Mayor Pro Tem Bob Muncy
  • Durango Mayor Melissa Youssef
  • Eaton Mayor Pro Tem Liz Heid
  • Fountain Mayor Sharon Thompson
  • Fraser Trustee Katie Soles
  • Fruita Councilmember Ken Kreie
  • Glendale Councilmember Storm Gloor
  • Glenwood Springs Councilmember Shelley Kaup
  • Granby Mayor Josh Hardy
  • Greeley Councilmember Dale Hall
  • Lone Tree Councilmember Cathie Frazzini
  • Parker Councilmember John Diak
  • Pierce Mayor Pro Tem M. Sue Spurgeon-Paris
  • Thornton Mayor Pro Tem Jessica Sandgren
  • Trinidad Mayor Phil Rico
  • Windsor Board Member Ken Bennett
Fundamental Level (30 credits)
  • Aspen Mayor Torre
  • Aspen Mayor Pro Tem John Doyle
  • Aurora Councilmember Alison Combs
  • Bayfield Mayor Ashleigh Tarkington
  • Berthoud Trustee Tim Hardy
  • Blue River Mayor Toby Babich
  • Brighton Councilmember Clint Blackhurst
  • Brush Mayor Dana Sherman
  • Buena Vista Mayor Libby Fay
  • Burlington Mayor Greg Swiatkowski
  • Centennial Councilmember Christine Sweetland
  • Cherry Hills Village Mayor Pro Tem Randy Weil
  • Cortez Mayor Rachel Medina
  • Denver Councilmember Paul Kashmann
  • Denver Councilmember Amanda Sawyer
  • Edgewater Mayor John Beltrone
  • Edgewater Mayor Pro Tem Cory Reid-Vanas
  • Firestone Trustee Don Conyac
  • Fort Collins Mayor Jeni Arndt
  • Fort Collins Councilmember Tricia Canonico
  • Fort Collins Councilmember Susan Gutowsky
  • Fort Collins Councilmember Shirley Peel
  • Fort Lupton Mayor Zo A. Hubbard
  • Fort Morgan Mayor Lyn Deal
  • Glenwood Springs Councilmember Jonathan Godes
  • Gunnison Mayor Pro Tem Mallory Logan
  • Hillrose Mayor Dale Colerick Jr.
  • Idaho Springs Mayor Charles Harmon
  • Kersey Mayor Pro Tem Nathan Roth
  • Littleton Councilmember Pam Grove
  • Louisville Mayor Pro Tem Deborah Fahey
  • Mancos Mayor Pro Tem Cindy S. Simpson
  • Mead Trustee David AdamsTrustee Herman Schranz
  • Montrose Councilmember Dave Frank
  • Morrison Mayor Pro Tem Katie Gill
  • Mountain Village Mayor Laila Benitez
  • Mountain Village Mayor Pro Tem Dan Caton
  • Northglenn Mayor Meredith Leighty
  • Northglenn Councilmember Becky Brown
  • Norwood Mayor Candy Meehan
  • Palmer Lake Mayor Glant Elaine Havenar
  • Platteville Mayor Adrienne Sandoval
  • Salida Mayor Dan Shore
  • Severance Mayor Matthew Fries
  • Silver Cliff Mayor Harry A. Wenzel
  • Victor Councilmember Byron L. Hakes Jr.
  • Wheat Ridge Mayor Bud Starker
  • Windsor Mayor Pro Tem Barry William Wilson


Frequently Asked Questions

How do I register for the program?

All elected officials of CML's member municipalities are automatically enrolled in the program.

How do I get credit?

Each CML training event is assigned a specific credit value, usually based on the length of the training. Whenever you participate in a CML webinar, a CML in-person workshop, the CML Annual Conference or other credit-eligible CML event, you automatically receive the specified number of credits.

Do I fill out a form during the workshop to get credit?

No. Credit will be automatically given to you after each training event you attend. 

Do I get credit for attending the CML Annual Conference?

Yes. A pre-determined number of credits will be awarded for attending the conference.

How can I find out the number of MUNIversity credits I have?

Log in on this website (the login button is in the top right corner). Click on your name. Click on credits. 

How will I know when I have reached a new level?

CML will notify you several weeks prior to the CML Annual Conference in June, which is where you will be recognized for reaching a new level in the program. After the conference, a news release will be sent listing all officials who have achieved a new level.

Does MUNIversity recognize municipal staff members?

The program is currently only for municipal elected officials.