MINUTES CML Executive Board Meeting April 22, 2022, Denver, Colorado

Board members present: President Bob Widner, Immediate Past President, City Attorney Centennial; Vice President Dale Hall, Mayor Pro Tem, Greeley; Secretary/Treasurer Jessica Sandgren, Mayor Pro Tem, Thornton; Larry Atencio, Council President, Pueblo; Barbara Bynum, Council Member, Montrose; Greg Caton, City Manager, Grand Junction; A.J. Euckert, City Manager, Dacono; Carrie Hartwell, Town Clerk, Julesburg; Liz Hensley, Council Member, Alamosa; Angela Lawson, Council Member, Aurora; John Marriott, Council Member, Arvada; Wynetta Massey, City Attorney, Colorado Springs; Andrea Samson, Council Member, Loveland; Nicole Sampson, Council Member, Lafayette; Russell Stewart, Mayor, Cherry Hills Village; Katie Sickles, Town Manager, Bayfield; Laura Weinberg, Mayor, Golden; Charlie Willman, Mayor Pro Tem, Glenwood Springs; Melissa Youssef, Council Member, Durango.

Board members absent: Susan Jung, Mayor, Rocky Ford

CML Staff members present: Kevin Bommer, Executive Director; Rachel Bender, Associate Counsel; Meghan Dollar, Legislative Advocacy Manager; Meghan MacKillop, Legislative and Policy Advocate; Melissa Mata, Municipal Research Analyst; Alex Miller, Publication and Design Specialist; Karen Rosen, Meetings and Events Planner; Heather Stauffer, Legislative and Policy Advocate; Jennifer Stone, Engagement and Communications Manager; Makenna Sturgeon, Training and Marketing Specialist; Jaclyn Terwey, Legislative and Policy Advocate; & Allison Wright, Finance & Administration Manager.

The meeting was called to order by President Widner at 10:02 a.m. Attendance was taken and a quorum was established.

Liz Hensley MOVED AND Wynetta Massey SECONDED A MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM February 25th, 2022. The motion passed unanimously.

Jessica Sandgren, Secretary/Treasurer and Allison Wright, Finance and Administration Manager, presented the BAM committee report. Rodney Rice and Stephanie Simon from RubinBrown LLP were introduced and presented the 2021 audit reports. Katie Sickles MOVED and Nicole Samson SECONDED A MOTION TO approve the auditor's report. The motion passed unanimously.

Allison Wright presented the proposed changes to the population categories. Wynetta Massey MOVED and Russell Stewart SECONDED A MOTION TO approve the change in the large category to 50,000 to 249,999. The motion passed unanimously.

Allison Wright presented the 2023 dues schedule. Barbara Bynum MOVED and Charlie Willman SECONDED A MOTION TO approve the recommendation of the BAM committee, to approve the dues as calculated with the factors approved by the Board at its October 2021 meeting and to be presented to the membership at the annual meeting in June 2022. The motion passed unanimously.

Legislative Advocacy Manager Meghan Dollar and the advocacy team presented information on recommendations made by the CML Policy Committee at their April 15th meeting. The team has recommendations on 15 action items. Each of the advocates summarized their bill recommendations.

Heather Stauffer, Legislative and Policy Advocate reported Open Records: Access to Public Records will not be introduced this session. Jaclyn Terwey, Legislative and Policy Advocate noted the Utilities: Xcel Resource Adequacy Draft Bill will not be introduced by the House Speaker as anticipated.

Larry Atencio MOVED and Laura Weinberg SECONDED A MOTION TO approve all the staff recommendations except change HCR22-1006 to neutral since we received an amendment. The motion passed unanimously.

Russell Stewart MOVED and Wynetta Massey SECONDED A MOTION TO approve all the Policy Committee recommendations on the Supplemental Action Items. The motion passed unanimously.

Associate Counsel, Rachel Bender, presented the Amicus update. There were no action items.

The Mamet award subcommittee: Vice President Dale Hall, Liz Hensley, Katie Sickles, and Russell Stewart identified four finalists for the Sam Mamet Good Governance award. From the final four, the board selected one elected and one staff member. Russell Stewart MOVED and Nicole Samson SECONDED A MOTION TO approve Harry Wenzel, Mayor, Town of Silver Cliff and Larry Zaragoza, Town Manager, Town of La Jara as Sam Mamet Good Governance recipients. The motion passed unanimously.

Karen Rosen, Meetings and Events Planner, gave Annual Conference update. Karen encourages Board members to register, reserve lodging and attend the 100th Conference Celebration on Wednesday evening 6-9pm.

Melissa Mata, Municipal Research Analyst and Makenna Sturgeon, Training and Marketing Specialist, provide an update on the 100th Anniversary Celebration online and printed publication which will highlight 12 key events/topics in CML's history throughout the 2023 calendar year.

Kevin Bommer, Executive Director, reminds the board members of the upcoming board retreat July 7-9 in Greeley. He reviews the board seats that will be up for reelection in June 2022. They are as follows: Massey in the largest category, Atencio, A. Samson, and Sandgren in the large category, N. Samson, Weinberg, and Willman in the medium category, and Hartwell, Sickles, and current vacancy in the small category.

Kevin and Bob Widner remind anyone interested in being an executive officer next year to let them know via email well before the conference.

Charlie Willman MOVED and John Marriott SECONDED THE MOTION TO approve keeping the current board vacancy position open until the June board elections. The motion passed unanimously.

The next board meeting is scheduled for June 23 at 3:30 pm.

Barbara Bynum MOVED and Katie Sickles SECONDED THE MOTION to adjourn. Meeting adjourned at 12:05 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Jessica Sandgren Secretary/Treasurer