

## **NEWS RELEASE**

## Arvada Mayor Marc Williams Lyons Town Administrator Victoria Simonsen named recipients of the 2023 Sam Mamet Good Governance Award

Senator Barbara Kirkmeyer, R-Brighton and Senator Rachel Zenzinger, D-Arvada also honored as CML Legislative Heroes at CML 101<sup>st</sup> Annual Conference

**Contacts:** Kevin Bommer, executive director, kbommer@cml.org Denise White, engagement and communications manager, dwhite@cml.org

**DENVER, Colo. – Thursday June 29, 2023 –** The Colorado Municipal League (CML) announced today that Arvada Mayor Marc Williams and Lyons Town Administrator Victoria Simonsen have been named the recipients of the 2023 Sam Mamet Good Governance Award. The award, established in 2019 and named in honor of retired CML Executive Director Sam Mamet, recognizes individuals who exemplify and strive to promote the principles of good governance.

"This award honors those individuals serving with distinction our state's great cities and towns. They do so with vision, passion, and always guided by what is in their own community's best interest," said retired CML Executive Director Sam Mamet. "All of this represents good governance at its core, and I remain humbled to have this award named in my honor."

"I have always thought so highly of Sam," said Simonsen. "He is such a professional with a good sense of humor and so kind and so accessible to everyone that I'm really humbled and honored to be selected this year as a recipient of the Good Governance award."

"It's very touching," shared Mayor Williams on receiving the award. "It's a culmination of 24 years of giving back to the community and it's very special."

To learn more about the winners and watch videos profiling their achievements, visit <u>cml.org/utility-pages/about-cml/sam-mamet-good-governance-award</u>.

The award nominations were submitted by CML members and voted on by members of the CML Executive Board. This year, CML received a total of 14 nominations.

The following Colorado leaders were the other nominees:

- Jennifer Allen-Thomas, Commerce City mayor pro tem
- Heather Brooks, Alamosa city manager
- Rebekka Dailey, Wellington town trustee
- Karen Gates Ordway town administrator
- Rick Holman, Breckenridge town manager
- Bryan Lujan, Center town manager
- Bernadette Martinez, Del Norte town manager
- Judy McCormick, Coal Creek mayor
- Tom Piltingsrud, Florence interim city manager
- David Reynolds, New Castle town administrator
- Ashley Smith, Cañon City mayor
- Amy Teetzel, Erie director of administrative operations

In addition to the Good Governance Award recipients, CML honored distinguished guests Senator Barbara Kirkmeyer, R-Brighton, and Senator Rachel Zenzinger, D-Arvada, with the CML Legislative Hero award. This accolade recognizes the senators' unwavering support, leadership, and commitment to keeping local control local and home rule at home. The last time CML presented this award was in 2009 to Senator Joyce Foster from Denver.

## ###

<u>Colorado Municipal League</u> (CML) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization established in 1923 and represents the interests of 270 cities and towns. For more information on the Colorado Municipal League, please visit <u>cml.org</u>, call 303-831-6411 or stay connected on <u>Facebook</u>, <u>Twitter</u>, <u>LinkedIn</u> and <u>YouTube</u>.