

GET THE MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT PERSPECTIVE

Media Contact:
Jennifer Stone, Engagement and Communications Manager
1144 Sherman St., Denver, CO 80203
(p) 303-831-6411 · (f) 303-860-8175
jstone@cml.org
www.cml.org

NEWS RELEASE

For immediate release

Silver Cliff Mayor H.A. Buck Wenzel and La Jara Town Manager Larry Zaragoza named 2022 Sam Mamet Good Governance Award recipients

June 23, 2022, Breckenridge, Colo. – The Colorado Municipal League (CML) announced today that Silver Cliff Mayor H.A. Buck Wenzel and La Jara Town Manger Larry Zaragoza have been named the recipients of the 2022 Sam Mamet Good Governance Award. The award, named in honor of retired CML Executive Director Sam Mamet, honors individuals who exemplify and seek to expand the application of principles of good governance.

Former CML Executive Director Sam Mamet said, "I remain humbled to have this award named after me, and the list of nominees certainly exemplifies the best of municipal leadership in Colorado."

"The key to success is surrounding yourself with great people," said Mayor Wenzel. "I'm honored and humbled and will gladly accept this prestigious award on behalf of my staff, Board of Trustees, and supporters who have made it possible. We all work together as a team to provide the best services possible and move our Town forward."

"I didn't achieve this great recognition alone," said Larry Zaragoza. "As a former coach, my approach to being city manager is to work as a team that consists of employees and trustees coming together to provide the best possible services to our citizens."

Videos of both winners are available at

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1de5jEi-wxyTCBPkxfUXwd9Ll3EmYjMH5/view?usp=sharing and https://drive.google.com/file/d/123selz8RDSZOhPUem5OHLWtuDpK4JJeE/view?usp=sharing

Award nominations were submitted by CML membership and voted on by members of the CML Executive Board. CML received 18 nominations for this year's award.

Other nominees were:

- Yvette Gustad, City of Glenwood Springs
- Lesley Davis, Town of Montezuma
- Benjamin Cowan, City of Gunnison
- Michael Penny, City of Castle Pines
- Roy Chaney, City of Manitou Springs
- · Valerie Taylor, City of Dacono
- Zoe Dohnal, Town of Mountain Village
- Andrea Phillips, Town of Pagosa Springs

- Chris Steinke, City of Thornton
- Kurt Firnhaber, City of Boulder
- Timothy M. O'Brien, CPA, City of Denver
- Joyce Downing, City of Northglenn
- · Andrew (Andy) Szekeres, City of Denver Clerk and Recorder
- Aaron Hurlburt, City of Denver
- Tim Watts, City of Brighton
- Steven Sharp, City of Denver Elections Division

###