## MINUTES CML Executive Board Meeting May 2, 2025 - Denver, Colorado

Board members present: President Wynetta Massey, City Attorney, Colorado Springs; Vice President Seth Hoffman, City Manager, Lone Tree; Secretary/Treasurer Laura Weinberg, Mayor, Golden; Immediate Past President Jessica Sandgren, Councilwoman, Thornton; Michelle Eddy, Town Manager/Clerk, Blue River; Dave Frank, Mayor Pro Tem, Montrose; Dale Hall, Mayor Pro Tem, Greeley; Liz Hensley, Mayor Pro Tem, Alamosa; John Marriott, Councilmember, Arvada; James Marsh-Holschen, Councilmember, Broomfield; Rachel Medina, Mayor, Cortez; Candy Meehan, Mayor, Norwood; Joshua Rivero, Mayor, Parker; Hollie Rogin, Mayor, Lyons; Carol Saade, Council Member, Breckenridge; Amanda Sawyer, Councilmember, Denver; Anna Stout, Council Member, Grand Junction.

**Board members absent:** Jim Keehne, City Administrator, Burlington; Dave Kerber, Mayor Pro Tem, Greenwood Village; Dan Kramer, Town Attorney, Estes Park; Robert Widner, City Attorney, Centennial.

CML Staff members present: Kevin Bommer, Executive Director; Rachel Bender, Senior Associate Counsel; Elizabeth Haskell, Legislative & Policy Advocate; Kharyl Jackson, Marketing & Communications Specialist; Alex Miller, Publication & Design Specialist; Karen Rosen, Meeting and Events Planner; Jeremy Schupbach, Legislative & Policy Advocate; Robert Sheesley, General Counsel; Bev Stables, Legislative & Policy Advocate; Heather Stauffer, Legislative Advocacy Manager; Mark Vanderbrook, Database Specialist; Denise White, Engagement and Communications Manager; Allison Wright, Finance and Administration Manager; Lara Larkin, Executive Assistant.

The meeting was called to order by President Massey at 10:00 a.m. Attendance was taken and a quorum was established.

Joshua Rivero MOVED AND Carol Saade SECONDED A MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM THE FEBRUARY 28 & MARCH 21, 2025 MEETINGS. The motion passed unanimously.

Laura Weinberg, Secretary/Treasurer, introduced the auditors, Rodney Rice and Stephanie Simon, from RubinBrown LLP. They provided an overview of the annual audited financial statements. The BAM committee recommended the board accept the final audited financial statements. The BAM committee also reviewed the 2026 dues, dues schedule, and the projected 2026 budget. They recommended approval of the 2026 dues schedule. There was also discussion of the next BAM Committee reassessing the formula in more detail, with special attention to municipalities that are well below their total dues before caps.

Joshua Rivero MOVED AND John Marriott SECONDED THE MOTION TO ACCEPT THE BAM COMMITTEE'S RECOMMENDATION TO ACCEPT THE INDEPENDENT AUDIT REPORT AND APPROVE THE 2026 DUES SCHEDULE AS PRESENTED. The motion passed unanimously.

Heather Stauffer, Legislative Advocacy Manager, and the Advocacy Team summarized the legislative items and current positions. Any position changes will be included in the Statehouse Report.

Vice President Hoffman provided an update on the Sam Mamet Good Governance Award nominations. There were 26 nominations with two individuals who stood out to the Award Committee and were recommended to receive the award – Paula Barnett, Buena Vista town clerk, and Bud Starker, Wheat Ridge mayor.

John Marriott MOVED AND Jessica Sandgren SECONDED THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE AWARD COMMITTEE. The motion passed unanimously.

Karen Rosen, Meeting and Events Planner, provided a brief update on the upcoming Spring District Meetings. Board members were encouraged to attend as many as possible. She also provided a brief conference update noting the board reception will be on Tuesday evening, June 24<sup>th</sup>, at the Alpenrock Hotel.

Rosen and Vice President Seth Hoffman gave a brief update on the upcoming board retreat scheduled for July 12-14 in Grand Junction. The Board was encouraged to make their hotel reservations before the June 27 cutoff.

Executive Director Bommer noted the May 23<sup>rd</sup> deadline for the upcoming election for both the applications and endorsements. There will be 10 seats up for election; six will be new members to the current board.

President Massey announced her retirement from the City of Colorado Springs after serving 35 years.

Bommer acknowledged and thanked those with terms ending in June and not seeking re-election including Immediate Past President Jessica Sandgren, Jim Keehne, Dave Kerber, John Marriott, Amanda Sawyer, and Bob Widner.

At 11:38 a.m., the meeting paused for a short lunch break. The meeting resumed at 12:04 p.m.

Katie Roach, representing the America 250 – Colorado 150 Commission, gave an informative presentation and encouraged Colorado municipalities to participate in the program. The Commission commemorates Colorado's 150<sup>th</sup> anniversary and its unique history.

President Massey expressed her gratitude towards the staff for capturing the essence of her President's Initiative "Back to Basics" in the April issue of the Colorado Municipalities magazine.

President Massey adjourned the meeting at 12:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Laura Weinberg Secretary/Treasurer