## MINUTES CML Executive Board Meeting October 20, 2023 - Denver, Colorado

Board members present: President Jessica Sandgren, Mayor Pro Tem, Thornton; Vice President Wynetta Massey, City Attorney, Colorado Springs; Secretary/Treasurer Seth Hoffman, City Manager, Lone Tree; Immediate Past President Dale Hall, Council Member, Greeley; Larry Atencio, Council Member, Pueblo; Barbara Bynum, Mayor, Montrose; Michelle Eddy, Town Manager/Clerk, Blue River; John Fogle, Council Member, Loveland; Carrie Hartwell, Town Clerk/Treasurer, Julesburg; Liz Hensley, Council Member, Alamosa; Jim Keehne, City Administrator, Burlington; Shannon Lukeman-Hiromasa, Mayor Pro Tem, Northglenn; John Marriott, Council Member, Arvada; Carol Saade, Council Member, Breckenridge; Amanda Sawyer, Council Member, Denver; Dana Sherman, Mayor, Brush!; Katie Sickles, Town Manager, Bayfield; Anna Stout, Council President/Mayor, Grand Junction; Laura Weinberg, Mayor, Golden; Robert Widner, City Attorney, Centennial.

Board members absent: Dave Kerber, Mayor Pro Tem, Greenwood Village.

**CML Staff members present:** Kevin Bommer, Executive Director; Rachel Bender, Associate Counsel; Kharyl Jackson, Marketing & Communications Specialist; Alex Miller, Publication & Design Specialist; Karen Rosen, Meetings and Events Planner; Robert Sheesley, General Counsel; Heather Stauffer, Legislative Advocacy Manager; Denise White, Engagement and Communications Manager; Rachel Woolworth, Municipal Research Analyst; Allison Wright, Finance and Administration Manager; Lara Larkin, Executive Assistant.

The meeting was called to order by President Jessica Sandgren at 10:07 a.m. Attendance was taken and a quorum was established.

Laura Weinberg MOVED AND Carrie Hartwell SECONDED A MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM THE Sept. 8, 2023 meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Executive Director Kevin Bommer gave a brief staffing update. Denise White, Engagement & Communications Manager introduced new staff members Kharyl Jackson, Marketing & Communications Specialist and Rachel Woolworth, Municipal Research Analyst . Heather Stauffer, Legislative Advocacy Manager, gave a brief summary of each of the newly hired advocates.

Secretary Treasurer Seth Hoffman summarized the BAM committee's recommendations from their Oct. 10<sup>th</sup> meeting. Finance and Administration Manager Allison Wright gave a brief overview of CML options regarding the FAMLI program. President Sangren summarized the 3 recommendations made by the BAM Committee.

John Fogle MOVED AND Anna Stout SECONDED THE MOTION TO SUPPORT THE BAM COMMITTEE'S RECOMMENDATIONS. The motion passed unanimously.

Heather Stauffer, Legislative Advocacy Manager, provided the recommendations from the CML Policy Committee that met on Oct. 13, 2023. General Counsel Sheesley contributed to the lengthy discussion.

Anna Stout MOVED AND Dale Hall SECONDED THE MOTION TO SUPPORT THE POLICY COMMITTEE'S RECOMMENDATIONS AS PRESENTED. The motion passed unanimously.

General Counsel Sheesley provided the Amicus update. Castle Rock has requested CML to participate in Amicus and the CML legal team will look at Federal case law.

Wynetta Massey MOVED AND Barbara Bynum SECONDED THE MOTION TO SUPPORT CML Amicus involvement in the Castle Rock case. The motion passed unanimously.

Executive Director Bommer summarized the current National League of Cities (NLC) endorsement requests. John Fogle & Laura Weinberg have both applied for board positions while Angela Lawson has applied to participate in a constituency group.

Amanda Sawyer MOVED and Carol Saade SECONDED THE MOTION to approve endorsing John Fogle, Laura Weinberg, and Angela Lawson to participate in NLC.

President Sandgren commended staff for a wonderful 25<sup>th</sup> Anniversary party celebrating the CML Building. Former Executive Director Ken Bueche and his family were able to come celebrate the very building named in his honor; The Ken Bueche Municipal League Building. Sangren invited the board members to take some party favors and contribute to the time capsule before it goes back into the exterior of the building.

At 12:08 p.m. the meeting paused for a short lunch break and then went straight into an Executive session for the purpose of conductive the executive director's annual evaluation.

At the conclusion of the Executive session, Anna Stout MOVED and Carrie Hartwell SECONDED THE MOTION TO ADJOURN THE MEETING. The motion passed.

President Sandgren adjourned the meeting at 1:32 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Seth Hoffman Secretary/Treasurer