## MINUTES CML Executive Board Meeting June 27, 2023 - Aurora, Colorado

**Board members present:** Immediate Past President Robert Widner, City Attorney, Centennial; Vice President Jessica Sandgren, Mayor Pro Tem, Thornton; Secretary/Treasurer Wynetta Massey, City Attorney, Colorado Springs; Larry Atencio, Council Member, Pueblo; Barbara Bynum, Mayor, Montrose; Michelle Eddy, Town Manager/Clerk, Blue River; John Fogle, Council Member, Loveland; Carrie Hartwell, Town Clerk/Treasurer, Julesburg; Liz Hensley, Council Member, Alamosa; Seth Hoffman, City Manager, Lone Tree; Jim Keehne, City Administrator, Burlington; Dave Kerber, Mayor Pro Tem, Greenwood Village; Shannon Lukeman-Hiromasa, Mayor Pro Tem, Northglenn; John Marriott, Council Member, Arvada; Carol Saade, Council Member, Breckenridge; Amanda Sawyer, Council Member, Denver; Dana Sherman, Mayor, Brush!; Katie Sickles, Town Manager, Bayfield; Anna Stout, Council President/Mayor, Grand Junction; Laura Weinberg, Mayor, Golden.

Board members absent: President Dale Hall, Council Member, Greeley.

**CML Staff members present:** Kevin Bommer, Executive Director; Rachel Bender, Associate Counsel; Meghan MacKillop, Legislative and Policy Advocate; Karen Rosen, Meetings and Events Planner; Robert Sheesley, General Counsel; Heather Stauffer, Legislative Advocacy Manager; Mollie Steinemann, Legislative and Policy Advocate; Jaclyn Terwey, Legislative and Policy Advocate; Denise White, Engagement and Communications Manager; Allison Wright, Finance and Administration Manager; Lara Larkin, Executive Assistant.

The meeting was called to order by Immediate Past President Robert Widner at 3:38 p.m. Attendance was taken and a quorum was established.

Carrie Hartwell MOVED AND Barbara Bynum SECONDED A MOTION TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FROM THE May 5, 2023 meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Executive Director Kevin Bommer welcomed everyone and congratulated the newly elected board members. Shortly thereafter, CML staff members were excused temporarily, and the Board moved into Executive Session to select their officers. When the full meeting was reconvened, Bommer introduced the new officers for 2023-2024: President Jessica Sandgren, Vice President Wynetta Massey, and Secretary/Treasurer Seth Hoffman. Dale Hall moved to the Immediate Past President position.

The CML Executive Board Members and staff members briefly introduced themselves. Board members received their CML Executive Board Manual and filled out new information sheets.

Allison Wright, Finance and Administration Manager, provided an update on CML Banking Resolutions and Authority to Update Signatures on the CML banking accounts.

Barbara Bynum MOVED AND Anna Stout SECONDED THE MOTION TO APPROVE THE CML BANKING RESOLUTIONS AND AUTHORITY AS PRESENTED. The motion passed unanimously.

Kevin Bommer noted the Budget, Audit and Management Committee must be reconstituted each year following the election of a new president. There are six members: the vice president, the secretary/treasurer and four other Board members. Those interested in serving on the committee should express their interest to President Sandgren who will make appointments at a later time.

Bommer reminded the Board of the upcoming Board Retreat July 13-15<sup>th</sup> in Thornton. The retreat facilitator, Mark Collins was briefly introduced, and board members were reminded to make their reservations.

Bommer provided a handout for the Executive Director six-month assessment.

General Counsel Robert Sheesley summarized the Amicus Participation Report and gave the Initiatives update. Kevin Bommer highlighted some of the initiatives and asked board members to notify staff if one was of particular interest to them. There was a brief pause in the meeting to capture a photo of the new board.

Bommer presented the previously approved dates for future Board meetings. In-person meetings will start at 10:00 a.m. and end before 2:00 p.m., with lunch provided. A hybrid option will be available for those not able to attend in person. The next scheduled meeting is September 8<sup>th</sup> at CML.

President Sandgren adjourned the meeting at 4:21 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Seth Hoffman Secretary/Treasurer