Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

April 2, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker, U.S. House of Representatives H-232, United States Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi:

We are grateful for your tireless work to address the needs of all Americans struggling during the COVID-19 pandemic, and for your understanding of the tremendous burdens that have been borne by localities as they work to respond to this crisis and keep their populations safe. However, we are concerned that the COVID-19 relief packages considered thus far have not provided direct funding to stabilize smaller counties, cities, and towns—specifically, those with populations under 500,000. As such, we urge you to include direct stabilization funding to such localities in the next COVID-19 response bill, or to lower the threshold for direct funding through the Coronavirus Relief Fund to localities with smaller populations.

Many of us represent districts containing no or few localities with populations above 500,000. Like their larger neighbors, though, these smaller counties, cities, and towns have faced enormous costs while responding to the COVID-19 pandemic. These costs include deploying timely public service announcements to keep Americans informed, rapidly activating emergency operations, readying employees for telework to keep services running, and more. This work is essential to keeping our constituents safe and mitigating the spread of the coronavirus as effectively as possible.

We fear that, without targeted stabilization funding, smaller localities will be unable to continue providing these critical services to our constituents at the rate they are currently.

We applaud you for including a \$200 billion Coronavirus Relief Fund as part of H.R. 6379, the Take Responsibility for Workers and Families Act—\$50 billion more than the Senate package provides. However, we are concerned that, in both the House and Senate bills, localities with populations under 500,000 cannot receive stabilization funds directly. As you work to craft the next package to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic, we urge you to include direct stabilization funding to localities with populations under 500,000, or to lower the threshold for direct funding through the Coronavirus Relief Fund. There's precedent for a lower threshold. Currently, localities with populations of at least 50,000 are eligible to receive funding through the Community Development Block Grant program. We believe this funding will allow smaller counties, cities and towns in our districts to continue the tremendous work they are doing to protect our constituents during this difficult time.

Thank you for your consideration of this request. We stand ready to work with you as we continue to provide much-needed relief for the American people.

Sincerely,

Andy Levin Member of Congress

10m M

Tom Malinowski Member of Congress

Colin Z. Allred Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Joyce Beatty Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Anthony Brindisi Member of Congress

Bent. L

Ben Ray Luján Member of Congress

Joellegus

Joe Neguse Member of Congress

Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

Salud O. Carbajal Member of Congress

Matt Cartwright Member of Congress

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Judy Chu Member of Congress Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress

Wm. Lacy Clay Member of Congress

James E. Clyburn Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

TJ Cox Member of Congress Angie Craig Member of Congress

Charlie Crist Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Peter A. DeFazio Member of Congress

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

Suzan DelBene Member of Congress

Val Butler Demings Member of Congress

Theodore E. Deutch Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Mike Doyle Member of Congress

Eliot L. Engel Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Abby Finkenauer Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Deb Haaland Member of Congress

Josh Harder Member of Congress

Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Jim Himes Member of Congress

Kendra S. Horn Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Joseph P. Kennedy, III Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Ann Kirkpatrick Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Conor Lamb Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Brenda L. Lawrence Member of Congress

Al Lawson Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Susie Lee Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress Dave Loebsack Member of Congress

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Elaine G. Luria Member of Congress

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Debbie Mucarsel-Powell Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Dean Phillips Member of Congress Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Tom Reed Member of Congress

Kathleen M. Rice Member of Congress

Cedric L. Richmond Member of Congress

Harley Rouda Member of Congress

Tim Ryan Member of Congress

Michael F.Q. San Nicolas Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Bradley S. Schneider Member of Congress

Kurt Schrader Member of Congress Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

David Scott Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Donna Shalala Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Albio Sires Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Abigail D. Spanberger Member of Congress

Jackie Speier Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Mike Thompson Member of Congress Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Xochitl Torres Small Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress David Trone Member of Congress

Lauren Underwood Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Filemon Vela Member of Congress Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress