More Municipalities Adopt Standardized Sales Tax Definitions

Mountain Village, Timnath, and Boulder join 24 other self-collecting sales tax municipalities in adopting standardized sales tax definitions in their local tax codes. 

The following are the dates of final reading and key staff: 

  • Timnath, Nov. 17, led by Robert Rogers and Megan Murphy (town attorneys), Dezire Sanchez (town accountant), Christine Harwell (finance director), and April Getchius (town manager)
  • Mountain Village, Nov. 27, led by Jim Mahoney (town attorney) and Kevin Swain (finance director)
  • Boulder, Feb. 6

This continues the work undertaken by the municipal tax and finance administration community, originating with a request by the legislature (SJR 14-038) to work on a uniform set of sales tax definitions that could be adopted in the self-collecting jurisdictions for tax simplification.  

The following are the cities or towns that have previously adopted the definitions: Arvada, Aspen, Aurora, Avon, Centennial, Cortez, Dacono, Denver, Edgewater, Fort Collins, Frisco, Golden, Greeley, Greenwood Village, Gunnison, Gypsum, Littleton, Longmont, Louisville, Montrose, Northglenn, Parker, Westminster, and Wheat Ridge.  

CML would like to congratulate the staff, appointees, and elected officials of Timnath, Mountain Village, and Boulder for their work and leadership in adopting their ordinances. We now have a total of 27 self-collecting municipalities that have adopted the standardized sales tax definitions.